Members of our Board of Directors

RickRick Miller – President
Rick Miller joined the Pride Center board in October 2016. This follows a life dedicated to the LGBT community in the Des Moines since the 1980’s. Rick spends his time in retirement working on his house volunteering for several different groups, including: Plymouth Fine Arts Task Force, Plymouth Board of Membership, FFBC Scholarship Committee, and the Polk Count Heritage Gallery and Plymouth Gallery (chair).

JohnJohn Schmacker – Treasurer


LaurenLauren Linnenbrink – Secretary
Lauren joined the DSMPC board in February 2017. She has hopes to continue to grow the on-site library and increase community knowledge about the excellent resource we have available. Lauren works for a local early childhood non-profit. She is a graduate from UNI and is a huge Panther fan. Lauren also enjoys reading, hiking, eating good food (especially donuts), listening to musicals, and spending time with her friends and family.

Prairien NyxPrairie Nyx – PFLAG Liaison
Prairie spends part of her time as an advocate for LGBT issues in the corporate workplace and works to build understanding for things such as “safe bathrooms” in both offices and retail spaces. She is currently serving on the executive board of the Des Moines Pride Center as board Treasurer and as part of the publications and technology committees.