Board Members

Members of our Board of Directors

tink-vestTink Harvey – President
Tink is an LGBTQ  community member with a passion for advocacy and empowerment.  Tink plans and facilitates education classes, social events and fundraisers.  Tink’s goal is to help the Pride Center be an effective resource to our community by creating new educational programs and providing opportunities for outreach.

prairienyxPrairie Nyx – At Large Member
Prairie spends part of her time as an advocate for LGBT issues in the corporate workplace and works to build understanding for things such as “safe bathrooms” in both offices and retail spaces. She is currently serving on the executive board of the Des Moines Pride Center as board Treasurer and as part of the publications and technology committees.

rickRick Miller – At Large Member
Rick Miller joined the Pride Center board in October 2016.  This follows a life dedicated to the LGBT community in the Des Moines since the 1980’s.  He has been the President of the Gay Coalition of the Des Moines (1984), President of the Des Moines Men’s Chorus (predecessor of the Des Moines Gay Men’s chorus) 1985-90, co-chair of the Des Moines GLSEN chapter (1996), President of the Gay & Lesbian Resource Center (2000), and a member of the following boards-First Friday Breakfast Club, Plymouth’s Willits Committee, several Pride committees, and Des Moines Gay Men’s Chorus.  He has spent nearly 20 years singing in church and gay men’s choruses.  He is also an artist, pianist, and RAGBRAI ride (7 years), and reads a lot of non-fiction.  Rick spends his time in retirement working on his house volunteering for several different groups, including: Plymouth Fine Arts Task Force, Plymouth Board of Membership, FFBC Scholarship Committee, and the Polk Count Heritage Gallery and Plymouth Gallery (chair).  He loves spending time working in his yard and helping others.